Government of Western Australia Official Site


Western Australian State Election on March 11

Monday, 30 January 2017

On the advice of Premier Colin Barnett, Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC, Governor of Western Australia, has today prorogued State Parliament and dissolved the Legislative Assembly. This means that Bills not passed by either House must be reintroduced in the next session.

Joint standing committees and Legislative Assembly standing committees cease to exist. While Legislative Council standing committees still exist, they may not meet and do business.

This is the first formality in the constitutional and parliamentary process leading to the 40th general State Election on March 11, 2017.

The Premier acknowledged the hard work and contribution of several members who were retiring from State Parliament including Dawesville MLA Kim Hames, Bunbury MLA John Castrilli, Wagin MLA Terry Waldron, and Kalgoorlie MLA Wendy Duncan. 

The Western Australian Government Office in Tokyo will act as a polling booth for the 2017 state election. Western Australian citizens with proof of identity and WA address should contact the office for more details and to make an appointment to vote. Please note that voting materials may not be received by the office until mid-to late February, but WA citizens may vote up until close of business on Friday, March 10.