Government of Western Australia Official Site


Japan swim team to race in WA


Liza Harvey
Minister for Police; Tourism; Road Safety; Women’s Interests

Western Australia’s BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series has received a major boost in only its second year with the inclusion of strong swimming nations Japan and Brazil in the pool competition. Tourism Minister Liza Harvey said the 2014 series would now involve five of the world’s best swimming teams from Australia, China, South Africa, Japan and Brazil, guaranteeing two days of exciting swimming at Challenge Stadium.

“Together, those teams boast numerous Olympic and World Championship medallists, so the competition is certain to be fierce,” Mrs Harvey said. “Japan in particular had a very impressive team performance at the London Olympics winning 11 medals, second only to the United States and one more than both China and Australia. And of course Brazil is getting ready to host the next Olympic Games in 2016.”

“It’s fantastic to see the BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series growing and developing, and the addition of the two new teams will really take the event to a new level on the international stage.”

The 2014 BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series starts on January 31. The series also includes water polo, and open water swimming. The State Government, through Eventscorp, is a proud sponsor of the BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series.

For more information go to: