Government of Western Australia Official Site


WA election results and new cabinet

Results for the State Government general election in Western Australia to elect 59 members to the Legislative Assembly and 36 members to the Legislative Council held on Saturday 9 March 2013 saw the Liberal Party win an overall majority in the Legislative Assembly for the first time since the election of 1996 and retain government with 31 seats (+7 seats) , with the ALP winning 21 seats (-5 seats) and the Nationals 7 (+2 seats). 4 Independent members lost seats in the election.

Following the election, Premier Colin Barnett announced the State Government’s new Cabinet, welcoming five new Ministers to the front bench. “The beginning of the Liberal National Government’s second term is an exciting time and it presents an excellent opportunity to bring some fresh ideas and new approaches to the Cabinet table,” the Premier said. “I congratulate both the new Ministers and the existing Ministers on their appointment to Cabinet for this second term and look forward to working closely with them over the next four years of Government.”

The new cabinet members are:

Ken Baston: Minister for Agriculture and Food
Mike Nahan: Minister for Energy; Finance; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests
Tony Simpson: Minister for Local Government; Community Services; Seniors and Volunteering; Youth
Albert Jacob: Minister for Environment; Heritage
Joe Francis: Minister for Emergency Services; Corrective Services; Veterans

They join the current cabinet members, several of whom have additional portfolios:

Colin Barnett: Premier; Minister for State Development; Science
Kim Hames: Deputy Premier; Minister for Health; Tourism
Brendon Grylls: Minister for Regional Development; Lands; Minister Assisting the Minister for State Development
Peter Collier: Minister for Education; Aboriginal Affairs; Electoral Affairs
Troy Buswell: Treasurer; Minister for Transport; Fisheries
John Day: Minister for Planning; and Culture and the Arts
Liza Harvey: Minister for Police; Road Safety; Small Business; Women’s Interests
Terry Redman: Minister for Training and Workforce Development; Water; Forestry
Helen Morton: Minister for Mental Health; Disability Services; Child Protection
Michael Mischin: Attorney General; Minister for Commerce
Bill Marmion: Minister for Mines and Petroleum; Housing
Terry Waldron: Minister for Sport and Recreation; Racing and Gaming

John Day will be Leader of the House in the Legislative Assembly.

The Premier has also announced the appointment of eight Parliamentary Secretaries. The new cabinet was sworn in by WA Governor Malcolm McCusker on 21 March 2013.